skip to Main Content

Jouko Vilmunen (chair)

Jouko Vilmunen is Professor of Economics at University of Turku. Prior to this he has served as a research director at the Bank of Finland. His research focuses on macroeconomics and financial markets.

Hilde Bjørnland

Hilde C. Bjørnland is Professor of Economics and Provost for Research and Academic Resources at BI Norwegian Business School. She is also scientific advisor to Norges Bank. She was a member of Swedish Fiscal Policy Council in 2014-2017. Her main research interests are in the areas of business cycles, macroeconomic policy and time series.


Seija Ilmakunnas

Seija Ilmakunnas is Professor of Practice of Economics at Jyväskylä University School of Business and Economics. She has worked as the director of Labour Institute for Economic Research and the director general of Government Institute for Economic Research.


Johanna Niemi

Johanna Niemi is the dean of the University of Helsinki Faculty of Law. She has previously been Professor of Law at the Universities of Turku and Umeå. Her research interests include the study of over-indebtedness.

Jukka Pirttilä

Jukka Pirttilä is Professor in Public Economics at University of Helsinki. Prior to this he has served as professor at University of Tampere, and also as a member of the Economic Policy Council in 2016-2017. Pirttilä’s research involves issues related to public economics and development economics.


Secretariat of the Council

Anni Huhtala, General Secretary
+358 29 551 9414

Henri Keränen, researcher
+358 50 435 8861

Back To Top