skip to Main Content

Economic Policy Council

Finland’s Economic Policy Council was established in 2014 to provide independent evaluation of the objectives of economic policy and the effectiveness of the policy measures chosen. Through its work, the Council aims to improve the quality of economic policy decision-making and preparatory work, and to bring an independent and research-based perspective to the public discussion on economic policy. The Council publishes an annual report evaluating recent economic policy decisions. Council’s most recent report was published on January 23.

The members of the Council are appointed based on proposals made by the economics departments of universities and the Academy of Finland. The Council consists of a chairperson and four other members. The chairperson of the Council is Prof. Jouko Vilmunen. Other members are prof. Martin Ellison, prof. Anne Haila, prof. Jukka Pirttilä and prof. Jari Vainiomäki.

Report 2018

The Report 2018 of the Economic Policy Council was published on 23.1.2019. The report evaluates the fiscal policy, fiscal sustainability, and the government’s regional and social and health care reform.

Back To Top